Share This Article with a Friend!

Conservative Leaders Tell Congress No Red Flag Laws

Red Flag Laws
On September 27, 2019 the Conservative leaders of the Conservative Action Project (CAP) issued the following statement expressing their opposition to the enactment of so-called Red Flag laws at the state or federal level:

Conservatives oppose efforts to pass red flag laws at the state or federal level. These laws reverse the burden of proof, assuming people are guilty and must be proven innocent. They trample on the constitutional rights of Americans. And they do nothing to prevent mass shootings.

Seventeen states and the District of Columbia have passed forms of red flag laws, which allow police, family members, neighbors, romantic partners, teachers, or therapists who fear that a gun owner has become dangerous to file a seizure warrant for that person’s weapons with a judge.

In many states, the gun owner is not present in the hearing to defend himself in front of a judge, who determines if that person’s firearms should be confiscated.

Federal law already prohibits individuals from owning firearms if they have been convicted of a felony, a domestic-violence misdemeanor, have an active restraining order against them, or have been committed to a mental health institution. All 50 states also have civil commitment laws on the books, which allow friends and family to petition a court of emergency hospitalization or detention, subject to a hearing where the named individual is present entitled to legal counsel.

Red flag laws don’t reduce shootings. Two Yale-trained researchers reviewed 22 unique mental health reporting laws around the country, and found “no correlation with homicide rates.”

John Lott and Carlisle Moody found similar results in a fixed regression model for all 50 states, showing “red flag laws had no significant effect on murder, suicide, the number of people killed in mass public shootings, robbery, aggravated assault, or burglary.”

Worse, data from Connecticut and Indiana—states with the two oldest red flag laws in the country—show that nearly a third of confiscation orders are issued in error, against innocent people.

It would be a mistake to enact red flag laws, or encourage states to do so, when these laws clearly do not address the problem of mass shootings, but instead put the enumerated Second Amendment rights of Americans at risk.

Conservatives stand strongly opposed to the passage of red flag laws at the state or federal level.

(All organizations listed for IDENTIFICATION purposes only)

Alfred S. Regnery
Chairman, Conservative Action Project
Chairman, Law Enforcement Legal Defense Fund

The Honorable Jim DeMint
Chairman, Conservative Partnership Institute
Member, US Senate (SC 2005-2013)

Ed Corrigan
Vice Chairman, Conservative Action Project
and Executive Director, Conservative Partnership Institute

Rachel Bovard
Senior Director of Policy
Conservative Partnership Institute (CPI)

Noah Wall
Vice President of Advocacy

Mary Vought
Executive Director
Senate Conservatives Fund

Myron Ebell
Director, Center for Energy and Environment,
Competitive Enterprise Institute

The Honorable Morton C. Blackwell
The Leadership Institute

Cleta Mitchell, Esq.
Foley & Lardner LLP

The Honorable T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr.
Chief Domestic Advisor
President Ronald Reagan (1987-1988)

The Honorable Becky Norton Dunlop
White House Advisor
President Ronald Reagan (1981-1985)

Lisa B. Nelson

Kelly J. Shackelford, Esq.
Chairman, CNP Action, Inc.
President and CEO, First Liberty Institute

The Honorable J. Kenneth Blackwell
Constitutional Congress, Inc.

Jenny Beth Martin
Tea Party Patriots Citizen Fund

Lt. Gen. William G. Boykin (Ret.)
Executive Vice President
Family Research Council

Matt Schlapp
American Conservative Union (ACU)

Daniel Schneider
Executive Director
American Conservative Union (ACU)

The Honorable Donald Paul Hodel
U.S. Secretary of Energy (1982-1985)
U.S. Secretary of Interior (1985-1989)

Floyd Brown
Western Center for Journalism

Ron Robinson
Young America’s Foundation

The Honorable Mike Hill
Florida State House

The Honorable James C. Miller III
Budget Director for President Reagan

Tim Macy
Gun Owners of America

The Honorable Tom DeLay
Former Majority Leader
U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Belden Bell
Cochair-Legacy Society
The Heritage Foundation

Joseph Gregory
Gregory Management Co.

Anne Schlafly Cori
Eagle Forum

The Honorable Tim Huelskamp, Ph.D
Former Member of Congress
1st District of Kansas

The Honorable Gary L. Bauer
American Values

Ambassador Henry F. Cooper
President Reagan's Chief Defense and Space Negotiator
& Former SDI Director

Ralph A. Rebandt II
Oakland Hills Community Church

Donna Hearne
Constitutional Coalition

The Honorable George K. Rasley Jr.
Managing Editor

Melissa Ortiz

Jenna Ellis Rives
Constitutional Law Attorney
Trump 2020 Advisory Board

J. Christian Adams
Public Interest Legal Foundation

Gabriel Joseph
Digital Media / Social Consultant
The FreeEats Network

Richard Manning
Americans for Limited Government

James L. Martin
60 Plus Association

Willes K. Lee
National Federation of Republican Assemblies

Saulius “Saul” Anuzis
60 Plus Association

Craig Shirley
Reagan Biographer

Judson Phillips
Tea Party Nation

Sean Noble
American Encore

William W. Pascoe, III
Board Member
Tea Party Patriots Action

Mark Fitzgibbons
President of Corporate Affairs
American Target Advertising

Rebecca Hagelin
The Washington Times

Nancy Schulze
RCW Speakers

Eaton Hopkins
Liberty Surgical

Amapola Hansberger
Legal Immigrants for America

Terry Schilling
Executive Director
American Principles Project

Peter J. Thomas
The Conservative Caucus

Benjamin R. Case
Focused On Fundraising, Inc.

Reverend Gregory Quinlan
The Center for Garden State Families

Robert K. Fischer
Meeting Coordinator
Conservatives of Faith

Dr. Jerome R. Corsi, Ph.D.
Founder and CEO

Michelle Easton
Clare Boothe Luce Center for Conservative Women

Kay R. Daly
Coalition for a Fair Judiciary

Melvin Adams
Past President

S. Fran Lewis
Lewis Jewelers

Charlie Copeland
Intercollegiate Studies Institute

Elaine Donnelly
Center for Military Readiness

Allen Hebert
American-Chinese Fellowship of Houston

Roxanne Phillips
Member, Executive Committee
Council for National Policy

Mario Navarro da Costa
Director, Washington Bureau
Tradition, Family, Property

C. Preston Noell III
Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.

Lee Beaman
Beaman Automotive

Joan Holt Lindsey
Lindsey Communications

Robert D. Thompson
Former Administrator
The Weyrich Lunch (1999-2016)

George Landrith
Frontiers of Freedom

Norm Singleton
Campaign for Liberty

Dr. John C. Eastman
Henry Salvatori Professor of Law & Community Service,
Chapman University Fowler School of Law
Senior Fellow, The Claremont Institute

Rod D. Martin
Founder & CEO
The Martin Organization, Inc.

Sherri R. Martin
Executive Vice President
The Martin Organization, Inc.

Haley E. Martin
The Martin Foundation

Nicholas Stehle
Campaign for the American Future

The Honorable Jerry Melvin
Former Dean
Florida House of Representatives

Shawn A. Mitchell
Former Chaplain,
National Federation of Republican Assemblies

Rebekah Gantner
Executive Director,
Eagle Forum Education & Legal Defense Fund

Ed Martin
Phyllis Schlafly Eagles

Jeremy Cerone
EliteSafe Inc.

Lori Roman
American Civil Rights Union Action

Caroline C. Lewis
Percipio Communications

Share this